Rss Feed
Tweeter button
Facebook button

Start of the appeal of the judgment against cigarette manufacturers

18 November 2016

From November 21 to 25, 2016, before the Court of Appeal of Quebec, three Canadian tobacco companies will attempt to overturn the June 2015 judgment sentencing them to pay $15 billion to 100,000 Quebecers victimized by tobacco. Once again, Imperial Tobacco (ITL), Rothmans, Benson & Hedges and JTI-MacDonald will seek to be relieved of their obligations towards victims of their own products. Representing the victims of this class action, lawyers and the Quebec Council on Tobacco and Health will vigorously contest the arguments tabled by the companies.

Click on the following link to consult the press release issued on November 21 2016 (French version only):  Start of the appeal of the judgment against cigarette manufacturers

The hearings will be open to the public and will take place at the Court of Appeal of Quebec (100 rue Notre-Dame Est, Montréal) from 9:30 a.m. to 12:45 p.m. and 2:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.

The Court of Appeal is expected to render a judgment in about six month. 

The appeal of the judgment in the class actions on behalf of tobacco victims to be heard soon in the Quebec Court of Appeal

3 June 2016

The tobacco compagnies’ appeal of the judgment on May 27, 2015 ordering them to pay $15 billion to the victims cited in the Blais/CQTS class action will be heard by the Quebec court of Appeal in November 2016. Court of Appeal judges will then take up to six months to render their decision, which could then be appealed in the Supreme Court.

In addition, as part of the Court of Appeal’s judgment on October 27, 2015, Imperial Tobacco and Rothmans, Benson & Hedges have begun to pay the Court registrar security deposits that will total $984 million by the end of this proceeding, which represents part of the indemnity claimed from tobacco manufacturers. These sums serve to guarantee compensation for the victims of the class action in the event that the judgment in their favour is upheld in appeal.

Rss Feed
Tweeter button
Facebook button

Début de l’appel du jugement qui condamne les cigarettières

18 novembre 2016

Du 21 au 25 novembre 2016, en Cour d’appel du Québec, trois compagnies de tabac canadiennes tenteront de faire invalider le jugement qui les a condamnées à verser 15 milliards $ à 100 000 Québécois victimes du tabac en juin 2015.  Imperial Tobacco (ITL), Rothmans, Benson & Hedges et JTI-MacDonald chercheront une fois de plus à se soustraire à leurs obligations envers les victimes de leurs propres produits. Les avocats et le Conseil québécois sur le tabac et la santé, qui représentent les victimes de cette cause, contesteront avec vigueur les arguments des compagnies.

Le communiqué de presse émis le 21 novembre 2016 peut être consulté ici : Début de l’appel du jugement qui condamne les cigarettières

L’audience, ouverte au public, se déroulera chaque jour de 9 h 30 à 12 h 45 et de 14 h 30 à 15 h 30, à la Cour d’appel du Québec, 100, rue Notre-Dame Est, Montréal.

 Le jugement de la Cour d’appel devrait être rendu dans environ six mois. 

La contestation du jugement des recours collectifs pour les victimes du tabac sera bientôt entendue en Cour d’appel du Québec

3 juin 2016

La contestation par les compagnies de tabac du jugement du 27 mai 2015, qui les condamne à verser 15 milliards $ aux victimes du recours Blais/CQTS, sera entendue par la Cour d’appel du Québec en novembre 2016. Les juges de la Cour d’appel prendront ensuite jusqu’à six mois pour rendre leur jugement qui pourrait ensuite être contesté en Cour suprême.

Par ailleurs, dans le cadre du jugement de la Cour d’appel du 27 octobre 2015, Imperial Tobacco et Rothmans, Benson & Hedges ont commencé à verser au registraire de la Cour des dépôts en garantie qui totaliseront au terme de cette procédure 984 millions $, soit une partie des indemnités réclamées aux fabricants de tabac. Ces sommes permettent de garantir une indemnisation des victimes du recours si le jugement en leur faveur est confirmé en appel.